Nicole Joann.

personal opinions and thoughts.

Wordy Confidence

If you think about it, words are a language themselves; letters being the fundamentals that it’s built up of. These fundamentals, or letters, have the power to create millions, no trillions, of combinations of words that people use daily everyday. Imagine a world without words or even a world with a limited quantity of them; how much different would it be? If there were limited basic words, enough to fit on a single page, would this world still be the same?

I tend to have a greater appreciation for words than most people. I love a person with a colourful vocabulary and I tend to find beauty in the structure and pronunciation of certain words, sort-of in the same way an artist admires art or a musician marvels at music. I also, however, believe that just like any language, words have flexibility and can be modified to an extent dependent on the person using them, or rather speaking.

There are different words for a single word, though it may not seem important that they exist, I can argue otherwise. Rather than being  sad, mad, or happy, a person could be full of somber, raging, or ebullient, or they could be gloomy, offended, or jolly. Each word tends to speak of the basic emotion (sad, mad, happy) with a different level of intensity that the simple word itself cannot reveal. Another word modification that I believe should be universal is the English’s use of ‘u.’ For example, colour and color mean the same exact thing, however, one contains a ‘u.’ Although it’s not correct usage in the area I live to add a ‘u’ (and I continue to get incorrect marks on my school thesis papers and essays,” to certain words, I continue to do so because I, for some reason of which I can not even explain to myself, feel as if the word looks incomplete without it and I like the presence of the ‘u.’I was sitting in class one day when this whole thought about words slipped into my head. I can’t exactly pinpoint what it was exactly that related to this and paved the way for this post, but it was during my literature class discussion indirectly relating to understanding and comprehension of literature so I drafted it down quickly.

I was wondering; has anyone else ever seen the beauty in words whether it be the physical composition and combination of letters, or the pronunciation of them? Has anyone ever bent the rules of grammar to satisfy themselves? And if you haven’t would you ever? Does anyone think it repulsing to not follow the strict grammatical ways?

Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts on the subject!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .